ACP Recognizes Third Year Pharmacy Student Achievements at Awards Luncheon

OAKWOOD, VA (MAY 9, 2024) –  The Appalachian College of Pharmacy recognized its third-year pharmacy students, who graduated May 4, for their achievements at the college during the past year during a luncheon awards ceremony earlier this month.

“We are very proud of our third-year pharmacy students for their accomplishments during the past year and we congratulate them for their achievements,” said ACP Provost and Dean Susan Mayhew. “We also recognized our preceptors for their work with students and we congratulate James Black Jr. as the ACP Preceptor of the Year; Dr. Randall Cole at the ACP Preceptor of Excellence; and Dr. Randy Mullins as the ACP Preceptor of Distinction.”

Third year students recognized for their achievements at the May 2 luncheon were as follows:

  • William Taylor Justus – ACP Dean’s Award;
  • Badri Mohammed Abdi – P3 Highest GPA;
  • Annamay Mountain Hawk Fry – ACP Community Service Award;
  • Logan Bailee Surface – ACP Distinguished Service Award;
  • Samantha Joyce Klug – ACP Outstanding Student Leadership Award;
  • Luis Alejandro Villanueva – ACP Professionalism Award;
  • Badri Mohammed Abdi – ACP Academic Excellence in Pharmacy Award;
  • Bishen Kafley – Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award;
  • Christabel Larbi – VPHA Research & Foundation Student Award;
  • Karlee Wasilewski – Wolters Kluwer Clinical Drug Information Award;
  • Stacey Looney – VSHP Excellence in Health System Pharmacy Award;
  • Samantha Klug – ASHP Student Award; and
  • Joshua Green and Kaitlin Fields – Merck Awards.

Distinguished Interprofessional Education Scholar Awards were presented to Sosthenia Hekanou, Madison Keen, Emmanuel Oppong, Stacey Looney, Christabel Larbi and Moses Kusorgbor.

Members of the Class of 2024 named to the ACP Dean’s List included Badri Abdi, Kaitlyn Fields, Annamay Fry, Josh Green, Taylor Justus, Bishen Kafley, Samantha Klug, Christabel Larbi, Andrew Lee, Stacey Looney, Logan Surface, Luis Villanueva, Karlee Wasilewski and McKinley Webb.

Awards to members of the Class of 2025 and the Class of 2026 will be presented May 17.

ABOUT THE APPALACHIAN COLLEGE OF PHARMACY: The Appalachian College of Pharmacy is the only three-year Doctor of Pharmacy program in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Founded in 2003, the college accepted its first students in 2005. It is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Its mission is to cultivate a learning community committed to education, community outreach and the professional development of pharmacists. Its graduate pharmacists are now practicing throughout the United States.

Back to All News